cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux

Anybody here a Linux user?

If so, what is your favorite distro?

Just curious Smiley Happy

I had been using Ubuntu for a while, but just recently installed Mint 9.

So far its amazing. I haven't had a single driver issue (yet) and the layout and animations are really stunning.

If you haven't taken a look yet, I recommend you do.
And its free... what do you have to lose Smiley Wink

Cory K
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(11,301 Views)

I used to dual-boot Ubuntu, as it helped facilitate my school work.  Once I graduated though, I uninstalled it because it was taking up half of my 60gb hard drive that I kept running out of space on.  I liked it, but it didn't wow me enough to switch from xp on this computer or os x on my computer at home.

--
Tim Elsey
Certified LabVIEW Architect
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(11,262 Views)

I have used Ubuntu, Red hat, Mandriva (or Mandrake back in the days) and Suse very shortly.

I always end up deinstalling them after a while though.  My last episode had me installing Xen AFTER installing VISA et. al which changes the kernel and got me crashing Linux.  Nice nice.

I have used Mandriva one (a version of it, I can't recall the name) to make a usb-startable Linux with a custom piece of software installed (for driving a spectrometer) which allowed the user to test the software without having to install anything, just reboot.....  Cool idea but it took a while to get it working.

Shane.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(11,221 Views)

Due to hardware support and driver availability (or lack thereof Smiley Wink )

I generally restrict using Linux to home computers only.

Windows seems to have much more support in that area,

so I don't generally stray off the beaten path when I'm using a computer for work.

Cory K
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(11,207 Views)