Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how to send a voltage value from labview to Keithley 2400 source meter

Hi everyone,

I just want to use Labview to send 7 (arbitrary number) volts to heat up a heater connected to the Keithley but it's not working. I have zero to no experience with Labview so I'd greatly appreciate your help..........................

I am using an RS232 to USB to connect the Keithley to my laptop. I opened NI-MAX to use the test panel and sent the command "SOUR:VOLT 7\n" and got Vsrc to say 7V but I looked at my multimeter and nothing is actually being outputted. I also made a Labview code but I get the error "

Error -1073807346 occurred at VISA Open in test.vi".

Please see the attached images. 

Thank you,

Hannah

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(129 Views)

If somebody attaches 25MB (!) of blurry  high resolution photographs of a computer screen to illustrate a problem that is worth a few hundred bytes we can assume that the poster is not very computer literate.

Please take simple screenshots cropped to the interesting part and embed them in the post. You also seem to be using LabVIEW, so attach your VI too.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(128 Views)

First off, your meter measurement is done incorrectly.  You have the meter set to measure AC Voltage and NOT DC Volts.  Set it to the V-- option for DC Volts.  It should show around 6.4Vdc.

Next, the reason why the Keithley 2400 may only be driving 6.4166V instead of 7V is possibly due to foldback of the supply with the current limit set to 105uA (See compliance).  Set the current compliance to 1mA which should allow the Keithley to provide the full 7V.

Lastly, the IMG_8039.jpg image with the SCPI command:

4:  Write Operation (SOUR:VOLT\s7\n)