LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How are these feedback nodes helping synchronization? - FPGA

Context, I've inherited this code and I'm new to FPGA. I'm adding to this loop and I want to get rid of some of this pipelining because it feels like it's unnecessary. Surely building an array just to pipeline it, to then index it again doesn't make sense. And with what I need to add I really don't want to play shift register spaghetti if I don't have to. 

However before i start changing old code, I don't really know what these feedback nodes are doing and I don't want to lose any synchronisation. The comment says 'keep time synced with analogue input above'. Can someone explain how a feedback node would be used to keep synchronisation?
Is it because the data is being passed around 3 times but the timestamp only twice so it's keeping it back for a single iteration?

If I'm going to cut some of the pipelining I want to still keep these aligned, so if that is the case then I think I'll need to remove one.

For info, the loop is trying to run at 750khz. it reads analog data, filters it and passes it out. it uses the loop timer for the timestamp. I'm about to add it bringing in another dataset and filtering that too.

I've attached the current loop and an image of broadly how i want to change it. Basically I want to remove the pipeline between read and filter, so that i read the channels and then filter them,  then pipeline that round for sending.

Apologies in advance for not attaching the vi, but the whole project is a monolith which makes it hard to attach. Hopefully the screenshot will hold enough info for my question.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(227 Views)

Hi Shiv0921,

In my opinion, most of your feedback nodes / shift registers (I would even say ALL) could be removed without any functional difference.