LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IF, THEN and WHILE loops

I'm really new to LabVIEW, so I'll preface this post by saying that this question has probably been asked before. I'll begin by describing what I want to do: I have a VI that controls a Lake Shore 331, which is a temperature controller, and I want to automate a data-acquiring procedure.

Basically, the user supplies a .txt file with a list of temperatures, say in the format "8 25 50 100..." i.e. just the values seperated by whitespace. I've figured out how to use the "read from text file" function, so I now have a string that looks like the raw input above. Now I wish to (1) split this string at the whitespace, and convert each number to a "number"; (2) for each such value, to check if it lies in a specified range, and depending on what range it's in, to pass certain values to the Lake Shore to implement for a certain amount of time.

I'm fairly confident that if I know what temperature range a given value is in, I could use a simple case structure to finish off the program, so it's really the first  part that I'm having trouble with. Is there an easier way to get multiple vaules from the user and covert them to decimal? This .txt file thing makes sense to me since I usually work with Python, but I'd love to hear alternatives. Then, how would one go about implementing a range-check, and then a timed loop for each of these values?

Any help is much appreciated; please let me know if anything's not clear.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,120 Views)

Re: splitting the string.

have a look at this post http://lavag.org/topic/10751-splitting-string-sentence/#entry63943

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,110 Views)

temp range_BD.png

build an array with your ranges and temp. re arrange thru sorting, then search temp index and output with user set times

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,092 Views)

Hi

just an addition to what apok has said: