cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sample Rate - Strain Continuous Input

Solved!
Go to solution

Good morning, 

I am just getting started using LabView and decided to use the Example Template Strain - Continuous Input.vi

Similar to this question and others, I have run into the problem that the actual sample rate seems to be fixed. I am using a NI 9237 for the strain gauges and the cDAQ-9171 as the chassis. Currently only using the first channel. No matter which value I change samples per loop or sample rate to, the actual sample rate remains at 1612.9 Hz. 

sbrink8_0-1715160434418.png

I am attaching the .vi file as well. 

Could someone please explain why changing the two values has absolutely no impact on my sampling rate? I have read through DAQ Device is Not Sampling at Specified Rate in LabVIEW - NI and DAQmx Timing and Sample Rates - NI but it makes no further sense to me. Why are there two control options if they do not do anything. I also tried adding a samples per channel indicator but it had equally no impact. 

In short, I would like to be able to adjust the control values so my actual sample rate varies. I would like to sample at 10-100Hz or somewhere in between if possible. Alternatively, could someone advise me on how to change the sample rate in the while loop instead (acquire data in the .vi part). 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(391 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author sbrink8

Hi sbrink,

@sbrink8 wrote:

I am using a NI 9237 for the strain gauges and the cDAQ-9171 as the chassis.

No matter which value I change samples per loop or sample rate to, the actual sample rate remains at 1612.9 Hz. 

Simple answer: read the manual for your NI9237 module, especially the paragraph on sample rates!

@sbrink8 wrote:

I would like to sample at 10-100Hz or somewhere in between if possible.

Choose a reasonable sample rate (like 2000 Hz) and decimate the resulting data…

Best regards,
GerdW