ni.com checkout is currently experiencing issues.

Support teams are actively working on the resolution.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temperature Control using State Machines

Hi,

I am very new to labview and I am trying to build a VI using state machines to control temperature, I need it to have an automatic mode and a manual mode. I have a random number generator creating the temp and I am trying to get it so that if its above a certain temp it goes to one state or if its below a certain temp it goes to another state, is anybody able to help with getting something like this wired up?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(312 Views)

I would start with the learning resources listed at the top of the forum for the basics, then see how far you get. If you get stuck, post what you have and we will point you in the right direction. You can also search the forum for examples and solutions.

A "temperature control" is always automatic and the user only sets the desired temperature. Can you describe what you mean by "manual mode"? (e.g. just turn the heater on or off irrespective of temperature?)

A temperature typically varies slowly over time. How are you planning to simulate it?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(293 Views)

Hey, thanks for the reply.

Yeah the manual mode would be if the user pressed a button to bring it to manual and then it let them either turn on a heater to bring the temperature up or a cooler to bring it down.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(264 Views)

I don't seem to have access to the learning resources as my licence is through my university so I have been using youtube but can't find solutions to what I need.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 11
(221 Views)

https://learn.ni.com/learn/article/labview-tutorial

Try this link. It will provide you with the basics to make an attempt at your homework project.

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 11
(205 Views)

When you share your VI and as far as you have gotten, you will receive help and guidance.