VeriStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Integration of NI-9853 into Veristand project

I am working to integrate two third-party motor controllers into a test stand, which can send status data over CAN.  I'd like to be able to bring the CAN data into my Veristand project that is operating this test stand.  Since I will have two devices sending data via CAN, the NI-9853 seemed like the best choice.  I have some experience with setting up the XNET database for CAN, but it looks like the 9853 requires the FPGA instead of using XNET.  I did find the example FPGA VI for the 9853 that will allow the raw CAN data to be read (I am currently using the FPGA for other functions in Veristand), but what I'm missing is how to define the decoding of the data like is typically done with the XNET database.  Does anyone have experience doing this that can give me some quick steps on how to bring decoded CAN data from a NI-9853 into Veristand?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(251 Views)

To my knowledge, no one has ever created an FPGA personality that supports the cRIO CAN module.

Perhaps the closest option you have is to use FPGA Addon. See Getting Started With NI FPGA Devices in NI VeriStand

-------------------------------------------------------
Control Lead | Intelline Inc
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(224 Views)

I have been trying to figure this out, too. It's fairly easy to get the raw CAN data from the 9853, but converting it to engineering units is the challenge. It's easier in Labview, cause you can use the XNET conversion VI's on the raw CAN data, but in Veristand I think you need a custom device to implement the conversion.  I have never created a custom device, so I don't know how hard this would be.

Another option is to use the NI-9860 with 2 TRC-8542 transceivers. This is much easier, cause you can just use the native XNET capabilities in Veristand.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(206 Views)