cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

controlling a maxon motor with labview!

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear friends,

I am new to Labview and I need some advice on my project. I am trying to control a maxon DC motor with a tacho, an EPOS2 controller and Labview.

My question is:

1. Do I need any extra hardware (a high speed CAN device) to communicate between labview and the computer other than the EPOS2 controller.

Thank you very much.

YukiNagano

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(16,035 Views)

My understanding is that the Robotics Module requires a high-speed CAN interface.

There is a discussion here with some options...

http://forums.ni.com/t5/Real-Time-Measurement-and/CRIO-and-EPOS2-via-RS232/td-p/1676960

Message 2 of 9
(7,693 Views)

Thre is also an option on the LabVIEW Tools network which is an extension of the LabVIEW Robotics Module and may include some extra functionality not found in the LabVIEW Robotics option.

Travis M
LabVIEW R&D
National Instruments
Message 3 of 9
(7,693 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author YukiNagano

Hi there. I believe that I can help.

The EPOS2 controller can interface to labview through the USB, RS232 or the CAN bus interface. The question is how fast do you need your communication? If the USB will do then all you need is the USB cable (this will either be the 370513 A-mini -B cable or the 350392 for the EPOS2 50/5).

From the maxon website you can download the Labview package that contains the VIs that you need. A little tip: use the average values for the velocity and the current. This is because they fluctuate so much that the data is unusable if you are trying to make a closed loop system.

http://www.maxonmotor.com/maxon/view/catalog/