From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie questions about AF

Hi,

I'm new to the actor framework. I've worked through the hands-on tutorial and looked at various examples.

I'm now trying to build my first small application and was hoping for a nodge in the right direction with two main questions. Before going into those I will outline the software.

The application is used to calibrate a device. As such it has analogue inputs/outputs but is also using I2C via FTDI.

The whole calibration process is strictly scripted.

As all of this can be functionally described as the process I wanted launch a process actor. The process actor is then starting a state machine actor as well as an IO management actor which subsequently starts the DAQ and the I2C actors.

The top level application is also going to start an error handler as well as a GUI actor.

Now for my first question. I only want to show the GUI actor and not the launcher. What is the most elegant way of causing the top level app to shut down from within the GUI actor?

I had two approaches: