Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nested Actors

I have an AF project that is using nested actors.  Actor A is started then Actor A selectively launches several Actor B's based on events occuring. The problem I am having is that everytime Actor A launches an Actor B, a new Actor A is created.  Is there a code example of an Actor launching several other Actor instances?  How should the send queue be handled?  I am new to AF and trying to wrap my head around it.  Thank you for the assistance.

Ken J

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(6,832 Views)

Can you provide a diagram of your class hierarchy? I suspect that Actor B is a child of Actor A when it shouldn't inherit from A at all.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 22
(4,489 Views)

Can you post the portion of the code where you launch your nested actors?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 22
(4,489 Views)

Hi David,

I do have Actor B as a child of Actor A.  I want Actor B to inherit the properties of Actor A.  I want the messaging to go between Actor A and all the Actor B's.  Actor A is the system controller and the Actor B's need to pass status to and receive commands from Actor A.  Is there a better way to do this?

Ken J

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 22
(4,489 Views)

Actually is is OK to have the inheritance.  If more Actor A's get launched when you launch an B, perhaps their is a Call Parent Node from B that makes the launching of another A happen?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 22
(4,489 Views)

Thanks Kurt,

There is a Call Parent Method for Actor A in the Actor B Actor Core but it is required.

Ken J

0 Kudos
Message 6 of 22
(4,489 Views)