cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Self Enqueued Messages vs. Dedicated Value Change Event

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

So I'm very new to AF, but not so new to LabVIEW and OOP. I have this rather large application that I now own but didn't design and a large portion of the application is AF based. So there are some plugin screens that are launched and have various degrees of UI. One in particular that is pretty UI heavy was designed such that every event structure case in Actor Core has a Send Message subVI rather than taking any direct action on the UI elements itself. What I'm wondering is how necessary is that? It seems a bit confusing and more overhead if I really just want to, say, change another UI element's value based on the new user input to the UI element that triggered the event. Does that make sense?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,295 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author bartelma

There are a couple reasons to move all the logic out of the VI and into messages.

1) If you do it consistently, then your Actor's private data knows the full state of the GUI. Like if you have a toggle button that hides a bunch of controls, your Actor can remember whether things are "hidden?". Otherwise if you just hide the controls in your Event Case, it's harder to know for the Actor to know whether they're displayed. Using the Event Case quickly gets complicated if you have compound logic like "hide the controls if disconnected, OR if hidden? is toggled"

2) If you need to call the same actions from outside the Actor. You can either "Connect" by pushing a button on the GUI, or you can "Connect" by the Caller Actor sending a message in. Using a message gives you a single point of entry into the Actor.

3) Version control. You'll get history of each action this way, rather than only knowing that your panel.vi or Actor Core.vi changed and hoping the comments are descriptive enough.