Actor Framework Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Send Directly from Actor A to B (not via caller)

Hi All,

I am new to actor framework and I am stuck at following point, It will be great if you could show me the way through.

What I did ?

I can send can receive to and from caller (using read caller’s Enqueuer).

I created a small example for that (attached)

Three actors

Main Actor core.vi  : This will launch ‘Actor A’ and ‘Actor B’

I can send Data from Actor A ---toà Main Actor ----to-à  Actor B (using Read caller’s Enqueuer).

What I wish to do?

What I can do is to send data from Actor A ---to---> Actor B directly.

How to get message Enqueuer if the caller is different?

How to use ‘Address Message.vi’ ?

Actors.JPG

Thank you for help.

-
Amit
CLAD
Message 1 of 10
(6,291 Views)

Well, your Main Actor "knows" the enqueuers of Actors A and B, so it can send them to the respective Actor in a message.

Using this enqueuer, both SubActors can communicate with each other... sweet as.

But be aware of the pros and cons of direct communication.

Message 2 of 10
(4,645 Views)

Hi Oli_Wachno,

Thank you for your reply. I tried this way more explained here as approch 2 (Sorry for duplicate post).

can you explain more about the pro's and con's ?

Thank you.

-
Amit
CLAD
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,646 Views)

Direct messaging between the Actors can introduce a lot of complexity to the application. The more Actors are communicating, the more side effects can occur due to the asynchronous message execution. In an uncontrolled enviroment, debugging will become an nightmare, if you don't put some clever methodologies in place.