BreakPoint

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How did you learn LabVIEW?

I'm curious how you learned LabVIEW. Did you learn from NI courses? In school? Taught by a co-worker? Reading the documentation? Figuring out how the pieces fit together? Every answer gets kudos.

Spoiler
Not necessarily every reply gets kudos, but every answer will Smiley Happy

=====================
LabVIEW 2012

Message 1 of 52
(11,254 Views)

After I graduated with a CS degree I got a job working with LabVIEW, which I'd never heard of.  The first couple months I had an old edition of LabVIEW for Everyone by my side and spent a lot of time here.  Basically, I credit the forums as my teacher.  It was easy learning, basically just picking up the new 'syntax'.

--
Tim Elsey
Certified LabVIEW Architect
Message 2 of 52
(11,246 Views)

I got LabVIEW Basics I/II training from a senior AE when I started as an AE at NI back in January 1999.  It was LabVIEW 5.0.1.

Message 3 of 52
(11,240 Views)

As my signature suggests I recieved LabVIEW in my baby-bottle from dady.

More seriously, I studied thermal engineering and after my first year at university (year 2000) I worked at my father's company (Saphir) for 6 weeks, I started with the standard basic 1 & 2 that were taught in-house and my first project was to write a software to benchmark different options for writing binary data to disk (one file per channel vs all channel in the same file, use of flush, etc...). After that, each year during my studies I had internship periods to do in the industry and I amost always arranged it so that it could include thermal engineering and some LabVIEW dev (only in 2001 there was no LabVIEW involved).