BreakPoint

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Offsite Test Stand Deployment

This is a general question, though I will be using NI hardware and LabVIEW.

I have been using LabVIEW on/off since 1997 and have experience building test stands.  I may be building a test stand for an offsite location which will be a copy of a test stand that I recently built here at my facility. 

My question is: what things do I need to think about when deploying a test stand offsite (on a different continent).  Of couse, there are the language and voltage/power differences, but what else should I consider?  I would appreciate feedback from those who have experience in this area. 

>

"There is a God shaped vacuum in the heart of every man which cannot be filled by any created thing, but only by God, the Creator, made known through Jesus." - Blaise Pascal
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(7,044 Views)

Any specific safety codes and interlocks that may apply?

Any required equipment codes (ie UL or CE approval)?

Robust packaging/crating for shipment.

-AK2DM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"It’s the questions that drive us.”
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Message 2 of 7
(7,025 Views)

Remote log-in!  That wonderful "Bullet Proof" code you wrote will immediately fail to meet the new user's expectations.  You will loose less sleep GoTo meeting or Logmein'ing at Oh dark- thirty than on that transcontinental flight! 

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
Message 3 of 7
(7,016 Views)

Documentation, Documentation, Documentation.  Because the test rack will have to be torn apart for calibration and they will need to know how to put it back together.  Or even better, they need to troubleshoot before calling you a dark thirty in the morning (that line was to good not to repeat).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines