cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sample CLD (Boiler Controller) Solution for Review

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I have solved the Boiler Control example, as part of my CLD practice.

Can you guys please review it?

I couldn't meet the timing deadline but I think I can do it with some practice.

Also please excuse the documentation part. I hav done almost nothing on that as of now.

I would like to see comments on architecture, functionality, code readability, etc.

Thanks in advance.

Moni

**If necessity is the mother of invention, I bet laziness is the father.**
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(7,221 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author mmoni

I'm studying for the CLD myself and haven't passed it, so take my comments with a grain of salt.

A few suggestions. They're all very minor.

1) For your next practice, take the last 10 minutes of the 4 hours and do documentation. Those are fast, easy points. It's even better if you document as you go - just type a quick description of what you're doing in each frame, and add documentation to your VI Properties (especially your main one).

2) This is very minor, but I noticed a lot of coercion dots. A Quick Drop and Ctrl+I will clear those out quickly.

3) I think you should hide your debug indicators for State Q. At least move them off to the side, away from the desired front panel.

4) Shift cluster should definitely be a typedef.

5) Is there a reason you used a "File Directory/Info" instead of a "Check if File Exists" function? This is more a curiosity question than anything; the way you coded is functional, but sort of indirect.

6) I'm not sure if the exact right values are writing for the log file, I see "6/27/2012::10:29 PM,Pilot Proved,29.59" as a line, and I would expect the Pilot value to be >30?

I think barring a slight lack of documentation, it looks great. It's very organized and it's clear in every state what you're doing.

I hope you pass! Good luck on your exam!

Message 2 of 4