DQMH Consortium Toolkits Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coupling Best Practices

Solved!
Go to solution

I've been working with LabVIEW for a while now, but this is my first project using DQMH and I want to make sure I'm following best practices as much as possible.

Say I have the following modules:

• User Authorization - Handles verifying a user's username and password against a database value to ensure they're authorized to use the application.
  • Result Logger - Logs test results to a database. Pretty standard and common for a number of applications.
  • Test Executive - Launches tests on a device that involve database interaction (i.e. the device interacts with the database, then the database is queried to see what the device returned).

In all of these instances, I'm interacting with a database (in one way or another). I'm struggling to determine what's the best method of handling the cross dependencies of these modules.

Is it best to:

1. Create a "Database Interaction" module which all of the other modules can call?
  2. Create a "Database Interaction" module, but route all of the other modules calls through my main application so there's no cross dependencies between modules and it's more of a "tree" diagram?
  3. Create a shared subVI like Execute Query.vi thats just called by multiple other modules but exists outside of any modules (in a shared library for example, one already exists for other items like shared classes for example)?
  4. Create a unique subVI for each module that handles database interaction solely for that module?