Developer Center Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2d arrays in a cluster

I just recently began learning Labview since something came up here at work and my boss asked me to get something working using this language. The idea was that we have a DLL which has been written in VC++ for a device and we would like to have the same functionality in Labview as we do with our own software. The DLL has several structures and each of those contains arrays and elements of different data types. I was able to get a structure with different data types and arrays to work. The problem came about when I went to try using 2d arrays. I asked for some help on the NI developer’s forum and a user mentioned that I would need to use a wrapper function but I’ve never written one before and nor do I know how to implement it into my VI. Do you think you could help me? Sorry I know this is quite a bit but it seems like not many people know how to deal with these complex functions.

Thanks,

George

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(10,932 Views)

Hi George,

In your email to me, you mentioned that you took a look at the example I created (Calling C/C++ DLLs Containing Simple and Complex Datatypes from LabVIEW) and needed the VIs in LabVIEW 8.5.1. I've attached the VIs to this post, back-saved to LabVIEW 8.2, this should work in LabVIEW 8.5.1 as well.

The example shows how to pass a 2D Array as well as structures (with 1D Arrays) from LabVIEW to a DLL and back, so hopefully that will get you started. However it did not address the case of a structure with a 2D Array. One of the answers suggested in the discussion forum is to basically create another C function (either in the same DLL or in a new DLL) that takes in the individual elements of the struct (which is simpler to do), then packs it into a struct and passes it onto the main DLL function.