GDS(Goop Development Suite)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to implement Factory Pattern with By Reference GOOP Classes?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all, 
So I am fairly new to Classes and GOOP. I have created a base DAQ Class with specific Agilent, NI DAQ Class. My base Class has a method called Load Child Class which gives me a Child Class reference. But when I wire this reference to dynamic dispatch methods I am getting Error 1556: Reference is in Valid.  The code is as follows: 

1.Create VI for the Base Class

2. Call method Load Child Class (Factory pattern implemented here) 

3. Call init Class (Dynamic Dispatch function loading my Agilent Class with its Data Cluster) 

Test Case.png

I am assuming that this is because I am not calling the Create.vi for the Child Class. But the Create.vi is not dynamic Dispatch, so even if I had the factory pattern code not as a method but on top of this, I would need a Case structure with an enum to do the Class creation (something I want to avoid). 
So don't know what to do here. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,405 Views)

Using case structure is a simple and reliable way. I would say, it covers 95% of our needs. However, there are other 5% where the class must be selected dynamically.

You do not attach the code, so it is difficult to understand your need. Do you want to create instance of a class using its path?

(1,378 Views)