GPU Computing

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simplest possible LVCUBLAS program failing?

I'm just getting started with LVCUDA after doing a small amount of work with GPUmat for MATLAB. For some reason, I can't manage to get LVCUBLAS to work properly, even for something as simple as copying a 1D array to and from the GPU. I have a minimal example working with regular CUDA, but not CUBLAS. CUDA 2.3, Windows XP SP3 32-bit, Labview 9.0f3, Quadro FX370M. Where can I look next for fixing this? Getting an internal error in CUBLAS isn't too specific.

Working CUDA block diagram and front panel:

cuda copy bd.png

cuda copy fp.png

Non-working CUBLAS block diagram and front panel:

cuda copy cublas bd.png

cuda copy cublas fp.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(11,516 Views)

If I recall, I've noticed the same issue w/ CUBLAS data transfers under v2.3 in my latest benchmarks. To work around it, I used LVCUDA allocations instead. The CUBLAS functions still work with inputs and outputs allocated by the CUDA runtime.

The error you're getting is an internal error from the CUBLAS library. My guess is that there is some incompatibility between apps built w/ early 2.x versions of CUDA. At least, that's my guess. The current NILabs module was built against v2.1. I'm planning on releasing binaries with support for more recent CUDA runtime engines.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(6,345 Views)

I've cut out all but the SGEMV call now, but it still fails:

cuda-sgemv-fp.png

cuda-sgemv-bd.png

Tried with CUDA 2.1 (failed just getting a context, and I think the Black-Scholes example failed as well), 2.2, and 2.3 (both ran Black-Scholes, but not my code). Haven't tried 3.1, since that would require a new set of video card drivers.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(6,345 Views)

I found a bug in the SGEMV wrapper code. Under examples\lvcublas_sgemv, open LV_cublasSgemv.cpp. On line #131 and #134, the x and y data references are being retrieved from _A not _x and _y.