ni.com checkout is currently experiencing issues.

Support teams are actively working on the resolution.

Industrial Communications

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

modbus rs485

Hi guys,

Im new to this  form.Im trying to get temperature readigs from P.I.D controllers via MODBUS rs 485.Im using RS 485 to RS 232 converter./can you guys please explain how to do that?

Best Regards,

Jack

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(8,164 Views)

Hi,

First you have to be sure that you physical line (the RS-485) is OK. You can make a lot of mistakes there.

Tell us what converter you have, how things are connected at this moment and which ModBus device(s) you are using.

Kees

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(8,154 Views)

Im using selec PID 500 to monitor temperature.I connect RS 485+ & RS 485- to the RS485 to RS232 converter (AC-RS485-RS232-01). I connect rs 232 port to com1.I tri  to get reading by using dasylab 11.0.But Im geting error message .

modbus ana00: 0: device error message: 4 address: 1

When im getting reading RX bulb is blinking.But TX bulb  is not blinking.

Why it is not working?

Thanks,

Jack.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(8,143 Views)

Try it with DASYLab 13.... 

You can download the eval from www.dasylab.com

Measurement Computing (MCC) has free technical support. Visit www.mccdaq.com and click on the "Support" tab for all support options, including DASYLab.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(8,142 Views)

Why Im getting that error messge?

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 13
(8,140 Views)

First of all,  did you put a 120 Ohm resistor from + to -?

Look in the manual of your device to make sure for the value but in any case, RS485 is a open collector technology so that, if the device does not have an internal one, this can happen.

Second, before you use DASYLab, you should try with a software that is provided by the manufacturer to make sure that your configuration is working correctly.   If yes than it should work on DASYLab as well.