Instrument Control (GPIB, Serial, VISA, IVI)

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Instrument alias doesn't show up in Labview VISA selection

Hi, I am new to the boards and on a project to control hardware. I am also new to labview so please bear with me. My problem as follows

\

MAX detects this 82357A Agilent GPIB Cable I was assigned as Misc but doesn't show up in Labview Visa selection on the front panel. I am sure the cable is working as the connection wizard I installed for this cable succeeds in finding the cable. I do like to ask if anyone have any way to solve this issue, thanks you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(5,771 Views)

The best way to solve your problem would be to use an NI controller.Smiley Very Happy

What is your primary VISA - NI or Agilent? Do you have the tulip passport enabled?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(5,759 Views)
Thx for the reply. I have tulip enabled since it was among one the steps fround online. But what is a NI controller? As for primary VISA, I have no idea, is there anyway to check? ThxSmiley Happy
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(5,751 Views)
You are using an Agilent GPIB controller. NI makes them as well and for about the same price.
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(5,748 Views)
O, except that this is a school project and the school most likely wouldn't buy one so I am kind of stuck with the Agilent cable. Do you know any other method out of this? Thx again.
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 13
(5,740 Views)
In MAX, are you able to do a scan for instruments?
0 Kudos
Message 6 of 13
(5,727 Views)
Yes, it is grouped under Misc VISA resources.
0 Kudos
Message 7 of 13
(5,714 Views)
Still need support with this issue. Anyone knows?
0 Kudos
Message 8 of 13
(5,673 Views)
bumpz
0 Kudos
Message 9 of 13
(5,636 Views)

Emo123,