LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Addressing of multiple Arduinos over RS485 half-duplex [UPDATE]

Hello Everyone!

I'm quite new to LV and LIFA and for my project at the university I would like to connect 5 (later 10 arduinos) running LIFA to one .vi-File over RS485 (half-duplex).

Until now I successfully could read one arduino transmitting over RS485  with the VISA package only. With LIFA it wasn't working probably due to the half-duplex setup.

My UNO was connected through the pin 0 (RX), pin 1(TX) and pin 2 (change of the transmission mode) to the MAX481 chip which was connected to an isolated RS485/USB converter (EX9530) which is connected to my PC running LV 2011.

The idea is to be able to send and receive data from various arduinos over RS485 (half-duplex) . Time isn't so crucial.

I would really appreciate if you could give me some opinions if this idea is realizable? Also with one vi.file?

Would it be working with LIFA if I modify the LIFA_Base.file or LABVIEWInterface.file  with an extra address command and an extra command for the change of the transmission mode (From RX to TX and back to RX-Mode)?

Any recommendations where I should put those?

I'm looking forward to your recommendations!
Cheers, Matt

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(6,628 Views)

An alternate approach for connecting multiple Arduinos to Labview is to use I2C instead of RS485.  See:

<http://hacknmod.com/hack/how-to-connect-multiple-arduino-microcontrollers-using-i2c/>

hrh1818

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(4,267 Views)

Hi hrh1818,

thank you very much for your message.

I was also thinking about I2C, but in my design I forgot to mention that each arduino has to be galvanic isolated, i.e the communication over the MAX481 chip will be isolated and each arduino will get his own power supply and ground. Besides each of the arduino will have his own I2C - DAC.=)