LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling arduino variable values using LabVIEW

I am fairly new to Arduino and I was wondering if there is a way to pass values to a sketch variable from LabVIEW? I am trying to update the sketch variable value through LabVIEW every 10 minutes and then close the serial port, after which my infinite loop will check if the variable is over a threshold level. I added a case to the processCommand function so that when I send a hex command from LabVIEW it should update the variable.

case 0x2E:   

Var == 12  //This is in the labviewinterface.h where I am trying to update the variable value to 12 on receiving a command of x 2E from LabVIEW.

Serial.println("success");

break;

I have defined it as a global variable in my main sketch and  am trying to check its updated value

if (Var > 10)

{

Serial.println("variable value is over limit");

}

Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Board: Arduino Uno Rev 2

LabVIEW: 2011

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,380 Views)

Hey,

Using the LIFA sketch this way isn't really intended behavior. To achieve similar logic I would set up framework something like:

-Send/Receive command from LIFA which calls a new command which activates "loop mode". Have the send/receive code expect 1 byte in response

-When command is called on Arduino put code into "loop mode" (could use something similar to how continuous aquisition mode is done)

-When loop completes write a confirm byte back to LIFA (something like Serial.write('0');)

-The Send/Receive will then recognize the loop mode completed succesfully (you may need to increase the timeout)

Let me know if you have questions with this- we could also provide a better answer with a better understanding of what the big picture goal of this functionality is.

Kevin Fort
Principal Software Engineer
NI
Message 2 of 7
(4,234 Views)

Kevin,