LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hand - Off - Auto / Remote - SCADA Architecture Question *All You Super Users Read This*

I am new to the forum. I have searched the net for almost 6 months on this and haven't really found a good response....

I have been around the block a few times with various control systems and am trying to figure out how to build a "proper" control system on the cheap. I used to use alot of Labview in School so that is how I ended up here.

What I want to do is have Hand Control at the Machine (Arduino Control System / or something) be able to switch that to Auto/Remote (Labview or some other language) then have that talk to SCADA (Thingspeak, SQL, havent figured this part out yet).

My question is how would you do it? I am a pretty good programmer and know just about every language so nothing is off the table. Seriously I would like to see some creative action.

I dont think LIFA is the best cause I need LOCAL control of all the variables. I would like to have PID loops etc running on the Arduino. I need to be controlling serial attached machines. I have some RS-485/232 going to VFDs and a dSPiN as well.

However, when I want to control it remotely, I would like to be able to pass set points if in auto mode or even better, in addition, be able to override auto and drill down into each attached component and control it in Hand remotely.

I know I could do this by building everything in VIs then linking through LIFA and using the VI as my hand/auto. However, I do not trust the link between LIFA and the Arduino that much. Also I do not know the capability of LIFA to do the RS-485 and serial data to the dSpiN. I need to be on Ethernet/Wifi, and if the controller goes down we may have a legitimate safety problem; hence why I want local control as my backup.