LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Interfacing Labview with Arduino and Zigbee

Hello everyone! My team and I (students) ought to make a temperature data logging and monitoring. We are to present our proposal next week, and I have a lot of question. I am a newbie in LabVIEW and only knows the basics.

Our system is composed of 3 nodes (each has 1 zigbee an arduino) each collecting data (using thermocouple), and then send the data through Zigbee to the base station where arduino and zigbee are present as well. The data will now be sent to the LabVIEW for processing the data. We will set a temperature threshold wherein the temperature should not go above andbelow a certain temperature.

Problem, we set a temperature where it should not exceed say 110C and below 90C, suddenly temperature went up to 125C at node 1 (as seen in the GUI), an alarm will trigger, of course the labview will be the only one to know this. It will command the node 1 to on an alarm of RED light. Can the LabVIEW command arduino in node 1? And how will I program the LabVIEW to do this?

If possible can someone show me the concept in block diagram in LabVIEW.

I have attached our system diagram, hoping for postive answer.

Thank You!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 21
(8,394 Views)

You do not need an Arduino board at your base station.  You should install the base station XBee in a Sprkfun XBee Explorer board and then plug the Explorer board into a USB port on your PC.

How will you adjust temperature.?  Your block diagram shows an adjust temperature block but you don't describe what you use to adjust temperature in your written description.

If you use LIFA, in addition to getting a reading from a node's thermocouple you can send commands to the same node to turn a heater or a LED on and off.

hrh1818

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 21
(4,139 Views)