LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please explain why I loose comms to Arduino after making a change to I/O pin

Okay first off, I'm a total noob to both LabVIEW and Arduino so go easy on me please. In fact this simple vi that I got from a tutorial on YouTube is the most time I've spent on both. But we all started somewhere right?

Here goes:
I followed a video tutorial showing how to turn on/off the pin 13 LED within LabVIEW. And when I start fresh (I.E. step 1) open the Arduino application and upload the LVIFA_Base.pde file, step 2) launch LabVIEW and build the code) the vi works as it should and I get control of the led. But if I go and change the value of the Digital I/O pin on the front panel, say from 13 to 12 then back again, and run the program I loose communication with the arduino.

In fact COM4 is no longer recognized by LabVIEW or the Arduino app.
The only way to get it back is to shut down Arduino and LabVIEW all together unplug the Arduino board from the usb and plug it back in. Only then (and only sometimes... once I had to reboot the PC for COM4 to become active again), will the Arduino app see COM4 and allow me to upload the firmware file, essentially starting over from scratch.

I've changed other parameters within the vi before and borked the connection to the board as well.

My question is, why is this occurring? At this point I really just want to toy around and familiarize myself with the environment but its a drag when I have to reboot my machine just because I changed a pin on the Arduino board.

I just want a better understanding of what is causing this and its probably something very simple.

Thank you for you patience.

SCXI- 1000 Chassis w/ 1346 adapter
PCI 6281 DAQ card
SCXI- 1520 Bridge Board w/ 1314 Terminal Block (x2)
SCXI- 1180 Feedthrough Panel w/ 1302 Block
Signal Express 2014.
Win7 Enterprise
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,151 Views)