LabVIEW Web Development Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Calling a LabVIEW web service from C#

I don't know if this group is the best place for this, but I suppose it might be relevant if someone builds web UIs in C#.

I should probably also preface this by saying I'm far from an expert on web services. While I know the general background on them, I had no reason to actually use one before yesterday.

Anyway, that reason was a client who wanted to pass some commands from a C# program on one PC to a LV program on another. I figured this was a perfect use case for WS, built a test WS, saw that it worked and sent the details to the .NET guy, who promptly tore the whole thing down. He wants to be able to import the WS as a class in C# and that requires the service to publish a WSDL file. That makes sense, as it's the metadata of the service, but the LV WS doesn't seem to publish it.

A bit of searching and an answer comes up - The C# wizard generally works with SOAP. LV uses REST and for historical reasons there was no official way to build a WSDL file for it (apparently now there is). For the purposes of the test, I fired up Eclipse, which has a plugin to graphically edit WSDL content, but that was too late for checking with the C# guy and the LV import wizard said it would only consume SOAP files.

So, the basic question is whether there is a way to generate the WSDL file in LV, so that it can be imported as a class in C#?

I couldn't find any data when searching for it, but it seems that something is published, because if I publish the WS and then go the web server page, it does show the published WS with its methods and their details.

As a backup option, we did consider the option of them simply constructing the URLs in code, but they're not happy with the idea.

(5,306 Views)