cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2D raster scan thorlabs KDC101

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

So I'm newbie here in Labview world but I'm wondering is there anyone who has been done or could help with 2D stepped raster scanner with 2x Thorlabs KDC101 brushed motor controller and 2x Thorlabs translation stages MTS50/M-Z8? I wanted to generate scanner which scans 

I'm using Windows 11, Thorlabs Kinesis software and communicating with motor controllers via USB ports.

I saw the C# example for the same example in Youtube made by Thorlabs itself, but I cannot implement that on Labview same way. Here is the link for that: https://github.com/Thorlabs/Motion_Control_Examples/blob/main/C%23/Benchtop/BBD302_Raster_Scan/Progr...

Also here is my current code snapshot...

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(799 Views)

Seems like a part of my text is missing...I meant to say that I want to make a scanner that scans every column in the first row of the matrix, then moves on to the next row. So the idea is to take a certain step forward in the x-direction, stop for a short time, and continue after that.

So the input would be the step length, the number of columns (number of steps taken), and the number of rows. This is used to scan for example 5 mm x 5 mm area as fast as possible.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(772 Views)

@markutol wrote:

I saw the C# example for the same example in Youtube made by Thorlabs itself, but I cannot implement that on Labview same way.

Why not? I haven't worked with those specific Thorlabs devices, but I assume you have the BenchtopBrushlessMotor class, which can allow you to create what you need? I'm not surprised to see that the code has nested for loops, where you move to the next Y and then within that row move to the X values.

Working with .NET code in LV can be cumbersome, but I would also suggest creating VIs, particularly for reusable functions (you can write the code and then select it and select Edit>>Create SubVI).