LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Acquiring duration between peaks (noisy signal)

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello Experts,

I am new to labview and I have been working on a VI on acquiring the duration between 2 peaks (real time). The signal source is human ECG/EKG (heart signal - PQRS). It has one huge spike and couple other smaller ones in every beat, and the signal is noisy. Now, what I am trying to do is just to get the duration between these peaks in real time (so it changes at every beat or it could also be the average of several peaks).

Hopefully, I am not confusing any of you.

I have spent a lot of time trying, but can't really understand how to use some of the available functions.

If possible, can anyone of you post a simple example of how this could be done? (using sinosoid signal - with noise - as source would be enough).

crossing my fingers!

Thank you in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,401 Views)

Probably the offline method that I would suggest would be to write down your data to a LVM/TDMS file in which you will have two columns , out of which one would be the Time channel , from there you can easily map peak-to-peak value to the corresponding time difference.

Alternatively , in real-time , you should use the Waveform Peak detection VI:

temp1.jpg

It also give the time locations at which the peaks were detected , so give the inputs accordingly and that should solve your problem.Smiley Happy

Bandan Jot Singh | Applications Engineer | NI India
Solution
Accepted by topic author MrCoolMan

You are in luck. Go to help in the toolbar, select Find Examples. Search for peak. Open the example named "Peak Detection and Display.vi" That VI will give you a push in the correct direction. Also stay away from using Express VIs in your project. Express VIs is just some flimflam that NI has glued ontop on Labview, using very cheap glue. Express VIs do always cause problems than they do good