LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting PMT to read voltage vs. time

Hello,

I am new hear to the labview forums and was wondering if you guys might be able to help me out.  I am an undergraduate student working on an LED-induced fluorescence detector.

A little bit about the system:

I'm using a blue high powered LED focused on a 25x microscope objective onto a capillary tube.  The fluorescence in the tube will be captured by a 10x microscope objective at 90 degrees to the other objective, which will then be filtered and captured by a PMT (Hamamatsu h7732-10)

This PMT will also be hooked up to an amplifier (Hamamatsu C6438-01)

My goal is to hook the PMT up to a computer with Labview software and read voltage vs. time for the fluorescence.  If possible I also wanted to hook the power supply up to the computer so we would be able to control the voltage through Labview too.  

In all honesty, I've been playing around with labview for a couple weeks and still seem quite clueless as to where to start.  My professor hasn't given me much to work with either since he doesn't really know the Labview software.

I was wondering if you guys might be able to help me out in any way or send me in the right direction.  These forums seem very helpful, and any help will be much appreciated.  Let me know if you need any more information about what I'm doing.

Thanks again!

-Greg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(13,897 Views)

Hi solis,

Just now i gone through the data sheet of the PMT,it has got BNC output.So what i think is that you need a data acquisition cardw ith some what less sampling rate to acquire the data generated by PMT.Once the data is acquired in labview ,you have plenty of ways to present the data.

To have an of labview data acquisition please visit www.ni.com/dataacquisiton.

Thanks and regards,

srikrishnaNF

Regards,
Srikrishna

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(13,883 Views)