LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling SMC JXC91 via Ethernet/IP

HI,

I have an urgent requirements to control a SMC LEY Electric Actuator, I only need to set Origin and three other fixed positions. I have a SMC JXC91 device to control the actuator and it feels like I am walking through quicksand 😨. I am trying to read under pressure a large number of documents covering PLCs. Ethernet/IP and CIP all at once.

Though I have used LabVIEW and TCP/IP for years I have no previous experience using PLC,s and cannot find my way into this problem.  I am looking for any guidance, where to start looking and reading or if I am highly lucky somebody has some code they could share.

The SMC JXC91 comes with its own controlling software ACT2 and communicates via the ETHERNET/IP protocol.  I have looked for command line control options for SMC software and also the ACT2 controller dll but neither give my anything.

I have downloaded a trial version of the LabVIEW Ethernet/IP toolkit, but cannot find anywhere documentation to help use it in this situation, the examples VI's a do not help at all as provide no context. I know there is a EDS file, which I assume give me the commands I need to use for the JXC91, I have downloaded it, but how that MAPs to the Gets or Sets I need to do I cannot figure out.

There are a number of old threads about Ethernet/IP some even say they have solved the issue with the device I am using, but the solutions do not actually help me,posted Vi's miss the important bit, or people talk about the mapping without explaining things at a level I can pick up.