LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling Thermotron - Basic steps

Solved!
Go to solution

Im an old VB/Visual studio coder making the leap to Labview 2009.

I need to control the temperature of a Thermotron 4800 environmental test chamber.  The communication is via RS232.

1.  I plan to use the VIs provided by Thermotron (of which there are MANY!).

2.  I want to simply initialize communication and then set a temperature (setpoint), wait for the chamber to reach that setpoint, and then proceed with the rest of my application.

3.  A simple VI with the minimum number of elements would really help me get a grip on this.

4.  Is there any relationship between VISA and the the VI's from Thermotron?

5.  I believe I need to install the "IVI Compliance Package" to support the Thermotron VIs.  I trust this is an additional download from NI?

I am hopeful that someone can share the fundamentals with respect to the above to get me started on the right track. 

Thanks for taking the time to read / respond to the above.

Scott

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(8,197 Views)

If you have an IVI driver then, yes, you will need to download the IVI Compliance Package. Since you've got an IVI driver, the VIs will be calling one or more DLLs. Thus, VISA would not be used in this case. As for what VIs you need to use, I haven't a clue since I don't have that driver. Downloading it from Thermotron requires registration, and I'm not about to do that just to download a driver to take a look at. Did the driver come with any example VIs? There should be some VIs for initializing the serial port, setting the temperature, running the Thermotron (i.e., starting the cooling/heating cycle) and reading the current temperature. Basically you would need to

1. Initialize

2. Send command to set the target temperature

3. In a loop read the temperature and stop it when you reach or (optionally), the user aborts.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(8,190 Views)