LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Controlling pressure regulator with labview and DAQ

Hello,

I am currently working on my Master's thesis. As part of this, a test bench is to be automated.
There is a pneumatic cylinder on this test bench that is currently set manually.

Is it possible to control an electric pressure regulator (e.g. Festo VPPE or VPPM) via LABVIEW?
The controller has an M12 plug with 5 poles:
1 supply 21.6 ... 26.4 V DC
2 Setpoint (-)
3 GND (-)
4 Setpoint (+) 0 ... 10 V DC
5 Actual value output or switching output

The applied voltage between 0 V and 10 V is then proportional to the set pressure

What hardware do I need for this? How do I connect the controller to this hardware?

Thanks for any help. I have never worked with LABVIEW before and am therefore still a complete beginner

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(408 Views)

Hi drawde,

@drawde99 wrote:

Is it possible to control an electric pressure regulator (e.g. Festo VPPE or VPPM) via LABVIEW?

Yes, sure!

@drawde99 wrote:

What hardware do I need for this? How do I connect the controller to this hardware?

Thanks for any help. I have never worked with LABVIEW before and am therefore still a complete beginner

Any simple DAQ device with an 0..10V analog output wouold be fine. Your options start with the plain USB6001

When you are a LabVIEW beginner you should take care of the learning offers at the top of the LabVIEW board.

And you should take care of the example VIs coming with LabVIEW and the DAQmx driver to get a start with your DAQ device…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 6
(397 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thank you for the fast respond!

Do I connect the analog output 0..10V from the DAQ to pin 2 and pin 4?

Do I need an external Power supply and connect it with pin 1 and pin 3?

Und ich hätte noch eine Frage: