LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Custom data type version number conflicts

I am new to Teststand software interface.  While doing my first software release under the guidance of a more experienced colleague, we discovered that Teststand will not run if it detects version number conflicts between custom data types on my machine vs. the production test machine.  I verified differences between all .seq files in my test program directory, but I did not realize that the version number difference exists in the StationGlobals.ini file, which is stored in a different location.  After discovering this, I modified the version number in one of the files.  However, two releases later, I discovered that the version number mismatches in another two files.  This raises several questions for me :

1.  Is there a way in Teststand to view all the .seq files where a custom data type is used and then change its version number in one attempt?

2.  Under what instances does Teststand upgrade the version number of a custom data type?

3.  Are there any tools or scripts within Teststand that can allow the version number of custom data types to be changed in all .ini files when a difference is discovered between the current production test station settings and a new release?

Please help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(2,032 Views)

You'll probably get better response in the TestStand Forum instead of the LabVIEW forum.

1.  Is there a way in Teststand to view all the .seq files where a custom data type is used and then change its version number in one attempt?

Look at the Types Window (Ctrl-T).  This should show which version of Custom Data Types are loaded for which sequence files.

2.  Under what instances does Teststand upgrade the version number of a custom data type?

As far as I know, anytime you edit a custom datatype which is already in memory, TestStand will update the version of the custom data type for the currently loaded sequences.