LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DLL access violation - unless caller's FP is open.

Solved!
Go to solution

Greetings!

I've been using a DLL to control a device for many months without any problem.  The DLL is accessed by a reentrant VI (and only by that VI).  The reentrant caller (configured to "preallocate clones) is "wrapped" by a non-reentrant VI - which my code uses.

Now I've made a copy of the non-reentrant VI and have it open a renamed/copy of the DLL. So there are two DLLs loaded, each talking to a different device.

Shortly after "Initializing" the two DLLs I'm seeing a "Access Violation" error that closes/crashes LabVIEW (, though, leaves "LabVIEW.exe" running in Task Manager).  I put a breakpoint immediately after the "Initialize-DLLs" step.  The program crashes a couple of seconds after hitting the breakpoint.

It seems that this problem doesn't occur if - prior to running the code - I open the front panel of either non-reentrant "wrapper" VIs.

I know this description is a bit vague.  The program is massive and it would be very time-consuming to carve-out a shareable example.  Still, any ideas are appreciated.

Cheers!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(7,454 Views)

I assume this is an unmanaged Win32 dll? Even though the dlls are copied (and with different names both will be loaded in the process space) they may still access a shared resource internally (some sort of resource, impossible to say without any actual information) that could cause problems. If it is an unmanaged Win32 lib LabVIEW can do little to prevent crashes of this nature if the library encounters an error like this.