LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Generating, acquiring signals looping over frequencies

Hi,

I am a novice to labview and I am trying to design a VI that can: generate a desired signal, measure an external signal (e.g from a signal generator) and also possibly convert an external signal sample into its phasor equivalent (or real and imaginary parts). Having achieved that, i wish to be able to measure these over a range of stepping frequencies. the aim of this is to be able to somehow compute the complex impedance of the load using a simple voltage divider rule.

Vl = Vs * Z/(R+Z)

and then i would like to plot Z vs freq. and look at the results. Any help with any part of this project will be much appreciated.I am working with labview 8 and a BNC 2110.

- Generate signal

- Acquire/Measure external signal

- Convert measured signal into complex form

- measure Vl, Vs and Z over a range of frequencies

- plot Z vs f

Thanks!

Charles

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,653 Views)

tmobile,

If I'm correctly understanding what you're trying to do, it should be pretty simple. You can use a DAQ Assist to pull in the signal from your BNC 2110. For the generated signal you can use another DAQ Assist, or use the Simulate Signal VI. To convert the signals to their phasor equivalents use the Spectral Measurements VI, or Dual Channel Spectral Measurement VI depending on your desired interaction of the two signals. Then plug in the values to your voltage divider equation and place the Z and frequency values into an array. Finally, graph the array and you should be good to go.

--Ryan

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,643 Views)

Thank you so much for your quick response. I will update you on my progress shortly.

Charles

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,636 Views)