LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help calling/running a subVI using boolean

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I'm working on a modification to one of my company's LV programs but I am new to it and trying to reverse engineer a lot of our software is proving difficult. I've picked up a lot of the basics but stuff like this is still throwing me off, so if anyone could help to explain in laymans terms how this process works and how I can tailor it to my needs it would be very helpful.

Basically I am trying to create an alert when a count in the main software reaches a certain point. When the count reaches this point, I need a new alert window to pop up, and I need it to be always on top so that it can't be ignored. The main program still needs to be able to operate in the background, but the alert must be clearly visible during operation. So I've used simple '<' operator to generate a boolean true/false depending on the count. 

I've attached my current files. In main, it compares the input number, and sets an event trigger if it is less than 200. This event trigger causes the subvi to run. However when it runs I'm getting this error: 

LabVIEW: (Hex 0x4AE) The VI is not in a state compatible with this operation. Change the execution mode of the referenced VI to reentrant for this operation.

I set the VI's reentrant property, and then it gives me this error:

LabVIEW: This property is writable only when the VI is in edit mode, or this method is available only when the VI is in edit mode.

However it is writable with the other property nodes so what am I doing wrong with this one? The end goal is to have the subvi pop up, stay always on top, and then go away when I click a button. Might be important to note that these files are pulled from another post on this forum showing how to keep a vi on top, and I've modified it to trigger an event from boolean.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(1,031 Views)