LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help to optimize my code and reduce 50% processing on my core i7

This is my first time working with labview and I am trying to learn more. I have read free online guides etc and came up with my setup.  

Goal:

If I have a square signal coming then 1 square or beginning of the square will equal one change. I need to record change/revolution of a wheel hence the coding seems like that.

Problem:

I can see the change but I have few problems with my code:

• If i stop the code then the revolution does not disappear but keeps on counting from there on (If I press run again). I want it to reset.
  • It does not record data after every 30 mins to a file. I have tried with one of the channel but it ends up saving as one file without having the "time stamp" which I did choose from the advance section. I just need it to record revolution every 30 mins to a file. 
  • My coding is apparently not optimized hence 56% of my processing power is used of my core i7 which is alot. I need to know what part of it is causing this problem. I can guess that I have the same loop for each channel hence its more demanding but I will appreciate if someone can optimize it further or give me a clue to what I should do.
  • Once I made the exe file out of it. The button to turn on/off did not work anymore while it worked fine during the labview program.
I am looking forward to hearing from you. I will like to thank you in advance for reading this and helping me out. 
Future plan:
  • I am going to try to stop it when a certain amount of revolutions has been reached. I will try that in the future though. If you can give me some advice on that, it would be appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,447 Views)

Instead of umpteen different loops and DAQ Assistants, use one loop and one DAQ Assistant that reads all of the channels.