cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Modbus serial writing to a VFD

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am trying to control a Kinco FV100-2T-0007G VFD through LabVIEW over Modbus. I have it connected via an RS485 USB cable.

I'm new to Modbus and having some trouble figuring out how to "translate" control commands and parameters into Modbus messages. The VFD's manual lists the Modbus RTU frame format, the register addresses in hexadecimal, and the bits for each parameters on the VFD in binary (attached as images). I'm confused how I should be inputting these numbers into a LabVIEW VI using the NI Modbus API.

I've attempted to write a test VI, but I can't try it without knowing how to address the register and how to encode the command. It likely has mistakes as well, which I would appreciate any feedback on.

Can anyone explain how I can translate my commands into a Modbus frame, and how I can sent that frame using LabVIEW?

Thanks in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(877 Views)

A few notes:

1. The Modbus VIs already implement the Modbus protocol, so you don't have to handle that.
    1. It's highly unlikely that they implement all of the Modbus functions listed in that table, as some of them are not standard and some of those that are, are rarely used. That said, you might not need all of them for the functionality you want. For example, calling the Write Holding Register VI will probably execute the function you showed in your particular example (it's function 6, write holding registers, which is not explicitly stated in the document, but is likely).
    2. If you do need some custom ones, you would probably need to edit the library, which would be a mess and I'm not sure if you can even do (it might be locked), so I would start by checking if you need any of the non-standard functions.
  2. Note that if it's RS485, you need the hardware on the computer side to support that (for example, by using a USB-RS485 adapter).