LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How exactly does the memory in Labview Fpga work

Solved!
Go to solution

I am using a PXI 7853 and I for the past few days I have been playing around with using Memory blocks in the FPGA .

Now I am relatively new to Labview FPGA programming and hence I would be grateful if someone could provide me with clarifications on teh following :

a) Since I am working on the development host computer when I initialize the Memory with the option of using a Memory initialization VI then how does it exactly happen in the backend .What I mean to ask is , when i change values of memory in the development computer and then compile the FPGA VI into the board ,is it that the Memory information is ported into the FPGA .If this is the case then in what form are the details initially saved in the development computer .

b) Is it possible for me to use the initialization VI method to change the valuesi n memory while the FPGA VI is running .If not ,then would it make a difference if I stop the VI and then change the values using initialization method .Would that actually reflect on the FPGA or should I have to re compile the FPGA VI every time I change the memory values in the development computer using the 'Initialization VI method ( that is available as an option when we right click on the memory block in the project explorer window )

I tried testing with simulation for FPGA VI and found that when i try to change the memory values by running the initialization VI . a pop up comes that says that it is not possible as the FPGA VI is still in use .

Any light on this or guidance with links would be highly appreciated 

Cheers 

sbkr

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,449 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author sbkr

sbkr wrote: