cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to not allow default values to be submitted

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to labview and need advice on how I should proceed with this. 

I based this VI of the tutorial VI on: https://forums.ni.com/t5/Example-Code/LabVIEW-Forms-Write-User-Data-to-Spreadsheet/ta-p/3518735 

What I am trying to do for my application is to not allow a user to submit a blank or default value. I was wanting to make it where if a blank value was submitted for the string and listbox, a one button dialog appears and informs the user that they must be filled out to submit the information. I would need to check the listbox and the string, would I need to decluster that data to be able to check them or would it be possible to leave them clustered? Would this also require a new case structure? 

I found one example on another forum but I wasn't sure if it was applicable for my situation, nor where I would put it in the code. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(1,318 Views)

Picture of code are not very helpful because we need be able to run your actual code to fix it.

But in general you need to error check every single input to make sure it is valid.

For instance if an input should be a persons name, you should check it to make sure it is not blank and does not contain numbers, punctuation, or special characters. 

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(1,289 Views)

Here's the code I currently have! If I were to do an error check would I need to de-cluster the data or would it be possible to check using a case structure? Since I wanted a dialog to display if an area was left blank, would that need to be tied into the error check function as well?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(1,274 Views)

@paintman wrote:

Here's the code I currently have! 

Where?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 15
(1,260 Views)