LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to ?: x = degrees of rotation, y = voltage in chart or graph.

Hello all, I’m brand new at this.

The system so far:

A BEI encoder puts out 9000 pulses per revolution. I’m sending it’s A and B outputs to an NI USB-6210. In LabVIEW, I used the “Counter – Read Encoder.vi” from Help/Find Examples/Hardware Input and Output/DAQmx/Counter Input. This looks good to me as the front panel reports the degrees of rotation going up when going clockwise and degrees of rotation going down when turning counter clockwise.

A potentiometer mechanically coupled to the input shaft of the encoder attenuates voltage. The attenuated voltage goes to the same NI USB-6210. In LabVIEW, I used the “Voltage – Continuous Input.vi” from Help/Find Examples/Hardware Input and Output/DAQmx/Analog Input. This also looks good to me as the Front Panel graphically reports the correct voltage (y-axis) over time (x-axis).

But what I want to accomplish on a single graph or chart (displaying in real time) is a plot of Y = Voltage and X = Degrees of Rotation.

I’ve worked and worked at this part of it and can’t get it to happen. What should connect to what? How? I’m really stuck. Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,717 Views)

Hi Tinsnips,

to plot XY data you should use a XYGraph…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,698 Views)