LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm new to DLL's. I want to create a DLL using Labview which outputs an array. I built a VI that outputs an array...how do I turn it into a DLL

I built a labview VI  that takes two controls and adds then and puts the result in a indicator..the dll works fine....when I try to build a dll with an array as the output I cant seem to get it to function.....

Maybe I'm missing some steps for the array case.....

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(312 Views)

The problem is usually not to create a DLL in LabVIEW that creates an array but the caller needs to be correctly setup. Standard C memory handling rules apply!

Much easier is to allocate the buffer for the array in the caller and let the DLL function write the array elements in there.

From the very helpful code you forget to attach, that’s as much as we can basically tell you.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 17
(291 Views)

VERY SORRY !  Here is the process I went through but when I try and read the array in a C/Python environment I can't read the array so my set up must be wrong as you have indicated.....

OK...I have attached the VI  I then put it into a project folder  I then proceeded with the building of the DLL and this is where I get lost....

The tool generates len and len 2 which I suspect is related to the array lengths ?  However in the return value option it shows no output...aka void in the H file which I have also attached...what am I missing.....

Willie7_0-1712432900763.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 17
(241 Views)

let me try this again with the attachments....

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 17
(240 Views)

I have attached to VI...hopefully this time it will stay attached.....

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 17
(236 Views)

Here is the H file Labview generated.....

#include "extcode.h"
#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C" {
#endif
typedef uint32_t  Enum;
#define Enum_Lowpass 0
#define Enum_Highpass 1
#define Enum_Bandpass 2
#define Enum_Bandstop 3