LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW done right: Requesting advice for a large LabVIEW project

Hello Everyone,

I have been coding LabVIEW for about 2 years now, off and on as my company requires it, and although my coding abilities and neatness have improved greatly since I first started I still end up with large, messy looking programs.

I have a great understanding of SubVIs and use them regularly and often. I am also familiar with the various code structures such as a producer/consumer or state machine. But I keep finding that too much of my main code is interdependent on common variables, indexes, and values that it seems impossible to simplify any of them into subVIs because I would need like 10+ inputs or a custom cluster for each one. This seems counter productive and time consuming.

I have searched far and wide for good programming technique for larger labview programs and I have only been able to find the most basic advice such as "Use subVIs" or "Use a state machine" and all the examples I can find are laughably simple.

I can reduce my program to 3 while loops. One captures Events and gives commands on a queue, another takes those queued items and performs actions, and the third performs data gathering, plotting, and saving once each second. This starts out good, but by the time I've incrementally added all the features my company requires, each loop is a huge interconnected mess of wires with no clear way to section them up into subVIs.

A solution would be to make everything either a global variable or FG but as a native C programmer I was always taught to avoid globals. And if I went the FG route I would need somewhere around 100+ different VIs just to handle them all. 

Is there something I'm missing? I want to know how you pass data between the various loops of your program. Do you use one big cluster? Globals? FGs? None of these options seem ideal to me but maybe I'm missing something obvious.