LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Labview unable to Abort

Sorry if this is a repeat of another topic, I looked to see if there were any other similar problems on here and I couldn't find any that were quite the same. I'm very new to labview so this may be a really easy thing to solve, but I don't know where to begin. 

So I have this VI that someone helped me make that talks to a voltage source and a multimeter, applying a voltage and measuring the resulting current, making a txt file of the output. Sometimes it works fine, but regularly it gets to the end, stops measuring the current (as it should) but the VI is still running and I can't abort it. Neither the button nor the Ctrl + . hotkey work and I just have to close it through the task manager.

I really have no idea where to start troubleshooting this, so even a cursory glance followed by a basic instruction on how to get started would be much appreciated!

Cheers,

Emily

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,036 Views)

You have not attached any of the subVIs, but some look like third party drivers. Most likely the problem is not with LabVIEW, but with these drivers. For example it could be possible that if you abort the VI (without allowing e.g. the "ke2000 close" to properly execute at the end), it could leave something in an undefined state next time the code is run.

Once the VI is in a state where it cannot be aborted, go to the diagram and press the highlight execution button (lightbulb). It will place a green arrow over the subVI that is not returning. See if this tells you anything.

Message 2 of 7
(3,010 Views)

Sorry for the slow reply! It is indeed a third party driver, and it is the ke 2000 close sub vi that is where it was stopping it turns out. Good guess! That little lightbulb is so helpful!