cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Minimum output in Volt for NI 9238

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello

I am studying ISO standard 9869, focused on measuring the heat transferred through the walls of a building.

I am recording the heat-flux via a transducer and the NI 9238 is the compatible datalogger. Flexlogger is the data acquisition software.

this standard gives you a methodology on how to quantify the uncertainty budget. From the NI 9238 datasheet I am not sure which is the correct value that corresponds to ISO requirement as minimum output provided by DL expressed in mV. The datasheet instead provides you the minimum voltage input +/- 0.496 V. This is not the value I am searching for. 

Can you help in retrieving this minimum output of the DL? I am guessing the minimum is 0 from the interval given above. I don't have competencies in electrical field.

Regards

LC

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(481 Views)

It sounds cryptic. I guess DL means data logger. One value I could think of being important would be the analog resolution of the measured signal. But I can’t think of how that could possibly be worded as “minimum output in mV”.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(459 Views)

Hi Rolfk. 

Thanks for your support.

yes DL means Datalogger.

is the analog resolution included in the datasheet?

Regards

LC

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(444 Views)

NI 9238 is a 24-bit AI module with an input range of +/- 500 mV.

The resolution or the smallest amount of input signal change that a device or sensor can detect is (0.5+0.5)/(2^24) = 59.6 nV

Reference: Specifications Explained: NI Multifunction I/O (MIO) DAQ

-------------------------------------------------------
Control Lead | Intelline Inc
Message 4 of 6
(440 Views)

Thanks a lot. Could you kindly share the page of the document you mentioned? I cannot find the equation.

Regards

LC

0 Kudos
Message 5 of 6
(369 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Lc90