LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help making simple VI run correctly

Hi everyone, I am somewhat new to LV.  I'm not a programmer by any means but I would like to become familiar with the software.  I am working on a work project and I need help getting the VI to run the way I need it to.

This will be a program to send commands to a RoboCylinder linear actuator contoller.  All I want it to do right now, is wait for the user to click on a "command button" (example: Turn Servo On/Off, Home Actuator, Move to Position), write the correct string to the controller, pause and wait for the next command.

Right now, I can only press one button.  In order to send the next command, I need to abort the program and re-run it.  

You be wondering why I have that while loop in there.  I'm trying to make the program run until I press a STOP button.  The problem is that the while loop is looping (obviously) the VI.  How can I keep the program running, but make it pause to await the next command?

Also, I notice the command buttons are staying pushed even after I set them as a "push till released" button.  

The program is communicating fine with the controller.

Any help on this would be appriciated!  Thanks,  Mac

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,235 Views)

Event structures should almost always be in a loop and loops should have one event structure. You really only need the while loop and one event structure inside the while loop.

Instead of wiring to the loop stop terminal you should put your stop button in a value change event for that button. Wire through the event structure to the loop stop terminal.

=====================
LabVIEW 2012

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(2,220 Views)

One problem you have is that you have multiple event structures, and many of them share the same events.  I have no idea why you have an event structure around the initial serial configuration VI.