LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Networked Database speed issue...

I apologize... I am kind of new to programming and have a limited scope of understanding when it comes to databases and sql queries.  I was given the task of creating an application to perform a sorting algorithm and implemented it using LabVIEW 2013, the database toolkit, and a MS Access 2007 database.  The application I wrote worked great when it was first deployed and now that it has been operational for about 2 months, it has slowed significantly. I did some testing and I think I have isolated the latency to network communication issues.  

I believe it is network speed/traffic related because I copied the database locally and sorting was only about 2s - the networked copy takes about 14s!!! Also, the number of users had no impact on this number either - I created a copy of the database, renamed it, saved it to the same folder, pointed my application to that file instead and it was still 14s...  The only noticeable improvement was using a local copy, which will not work for this scenario.  

I spoke to a few people about it and someone suggested changing the cursor location from server based to client based (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms676564(v=vs.85).aspx).  Only thing is, I cannot figure out which LabVIEW is using or how to change it... Is it changeable?  If not, do you have any other suggestions for speeding it up?  It is unlikely I will get much support from our IT department, so any improvement suggestions will have to be recommendations for change to my application.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(2,944 Views)

How big is your MS Access file?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(2,934 Views)

As of this morning it is 62MB

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(2,931 Views)