LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PID does not give an output

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to regulate temperature but even though the PID VI seems to receive the necessary inputs, it does not return an output.

I am very new to labview and don't know what I am doing wrong. The file is the program with the PID VI. It is a subprogram that is part of a bigger program.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,040 Views)

Hi User,

@User555 wrote:

I'm trying to regulate temperature but even though the PID VI seems to receive the necessary inputs, it does not return an output.

It would help when you could downconvert your VI for LV2019 (File->Save for previous)…

How do you determine the PID function does "not give an output"?

IMHO that function will ALWAYS give an output value - maybe it is a value not expected by you!?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(1,037 Views)

I'm sorry the latest version I can downconvert it to is 2012 version. 

But in these Pictures you can see that the current temperature is 17°C while the wanted temp is 22°C.

But the output of the PID is still 0. Do you know what could be the reason?

I am sorry i cant give you the right version I know it is hard to find the problem this way.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(1,030 Views)

Hi User,

@User555 wrote:

I'm sorry the latest version I can downconvert it to is 2012 version. 

I asked for LV2019…

@User555 wrote:

But in these Pictures you can see that the current temperature is 17°C while the wanted temp is 22°C.

But the output of the PID is still 0. Do you know what could be the reason?

I am sorry i cant give you the right version I know it is hard to find the problem this way.

The wanted temperature is "33.17", current temp is 17.83.

So there is a PID output, but it's not the expected one: how did you determine the PID gains?

How did you determine the allowed output range?