LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PXIe 5170R FPGA decimation options

Hi,

Can someone confirm if the decimator available on the 5170R FPGA palette if configured for power-of-2 decimation, only in fact supports a decimation factor of 2^1? All the other options appear greyed to me, and I've tried various methods to get around it (put it in an untimed loop, put it in a lower clocked timed loop, change the input options) without success. The only other option I can think of (I need anti-aliasing, not supported by the integer decimation, and I can't fit enough fractional decimators on for my channel count) is to stack up a few 2^1 decimators in series, but it feels messy and I'm not sure if it's optimal in the numerical fidelity stakes.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Message 1 of 4
(3,083 Views)

Hi ToeCutter,

My Name is George and I work as an Applications Engineer for National Instruments. I’m sorry it has taken so long for someone to help you with your query but we’ve had a lot of requests recently. Is this still an active problem?

I’m afraid I am not overly familiar with the concept of decimation but I understand you are trying to use power-of-2 decimation to reduce the sampling rate of a signal being measured with a 5170 R series PXIe module via FPGA. You would like to increase the factor of the decimator to increase the amount the signal is cut down but cannot increase it above 1.

To help troubleshoot the problem there are a few questions I hope you can answer to help me fully understand the problem;

• Could you give me a little background information on what your application is and how your hardware is set up?
  • Have you tried your potential solution of stacking 2^1 decimators? If so does this work despite not being fully optimised?
  • Why can you not use integer decimation?